Boston Spin Jams

Poi spinning. Poi artist: Nick Woolsey

Image via Wikipedia

Have you ever found yourself in a place and thought “Yeah… I like it here” ? I never had, until last night. Usually I simply feel like a fish out of water no matter where I go. When I’m in a group of people, I feel as if there is something fundamentally different about me that prevents me from fitting in with others. Something that other people can clearly see and constantly judge me for.

That feeling went away at Spin Jam.

There were so many amazing people with all sorts of skill toys — fire fans, hoops, clubs, whips, darts, whatever the contact juggling ball is called, and tons of poi. Everyone had varying levels of skill, but there was no sense of an “I’m better than you” attitude anywhere. Everyone was willing to help and to teach, even without even being asked. Several people, myself included, helped one girl with two-beat weaves, one of the ‘simpler’ moves. Meanwhile, another group was together working on pendulum swings (one of the more complex, intermediate-level moves) while others were hooping and working on whip technique.

I learned several new things myself, including forward 5-beat weaves and stalls. I also got TONS of advice on technique, namely in regards to leash length. I’m still tweaking the length of my leashes a bit, but I definitely like the direction it’s going. I talked to some really amazing people and overall just took in as much information as I could from everyone. It was a fantastic experience, and I absolutely cannot wait until next week! In the meantime, I have a lot to practice with.

I’ll look into getting some photos and video in the future, so stay tuned!


Ishana Mayakashi
AKA Laasya Water Dancer

About Squishy

Writer, dancer, gamer, and admirer of all that is beautiful.

Posted on August 31, 2010, in Skill Toys and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

