The Death of Courtesy

I’m sure many of you have read Lori Borgman’sDeath of Common Sense.” If you haven’t, you should. It’s a rather amusing read that gets you giggling, but also makes you feel terribly sad for the state of the world. The passing of dear Common Sense is tragic, and I fear Courtesy will soon join him.

I hardly have the satirical wit to write a convincing article about this, certainly nothing to compare to Lori’s, but I can rant. I can rant well.

Does anyone else remember when a simple act such as holding the door open for the person behind you was commonplace? People would do it without even thinking. If asked about it, they would probably say “Well she was right behind me, how could I not hold the door for her?”

I walked behind someone the other day who actually shut the door behind him, right in my face. Seriously!?

Singa the Courtesy Lion

Image via Wikipedia

People move in and out of my building a lot, and when I see someone carrying a significant number of items in and out of the building, I will stop and hold the door for them. Not because I want the thanks or the glory, but because it’s the right thing to do. And you know what? The people are actually surprised that someone is helping them! I wonder how many people walked right past them and didn’t even think to help them out.

My current quip is actually why I am up at 7am writing a blog post. I share my room with someone. When I get up for work in the morning (around 7am), I do my best to not wake her up. My alarm is silent, and once I’m up, I dress quietly, do a few other near-silent tasks, and shut the door behind me. I eat in the kitchen, and avoid going back into the bedroom if at all possible.

My roommate isn’t so kind. Her alarm is far from silent, and it takes a few minutes for her to get up and turn it off. Then she starts rummaging through drawers without the slightest attempt at quieting them. Since that’s not enough, she has to turn on the light, too. And do her hair, right at the foot of my bed. She left the room at one point, so I go up and turned the light off, hoping for twenty minutes more sleep before I, too, had to get ready. No luck. She came back in and turned it on again.

So here I am, ready for work an hour early, and in a very grumpy mood. Do people really think that little about others?

About Squishy

Writer, dancer, gamer, and admirer of all that is beautiful.

Posted on September 2, 2010, in Real Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

