Writing to Music

Most people I know prefer to listen to music when they write. The kind of music really depends on the person, as well as the nature of what he or she is writing. It’s a personal preference that I can’t really offer much suggestions for, but I do have an interesting writing practice to offer: writing to music.

Cover of "Requiem for a Dream (2000 Film)...

Cover of Requiem for a Dream (2000 Film)

The goal of writing, according to Randy Ingermanson, is to give your reader a Powerful Emotional Experience. Music does much the same. There are specific songs that are so well-composed and -produced that the listener experiences exceptionally powerful emotions. One of those songs for me is Clint Mansell‘s “Lux Aeterna” (Light Eternal I think), performed by the Kronos String Quartet. Many people know the song as “Requiem for a Dream,” which is the name of the movie that features the song.

I’ve not seen the movie myself, which is probably why when I heard the song, the powerful emotion tied to it inspired me to write. From what I have heard and read, “Requiem for a Dream” is a very powerful movie in itself, detailing the downward spiral of drug addiction. I do not claim that my storyline is a proper description of the song, but from my point of view, I feel my words match the song quite well. I wrote a very important scene in the plot of my yet unnamed novel, and spent a few hours in Movie Maker adding the storyline to the song. I’m very happy with how it came out, especially since I wasn’t expecting to accomplish such a thing.

This exercise opened up the idea of writing to music. Listen to a song that causes a Powerful Emotional Experience, and try to write something to suit it. I’ve tried doing the reverse (knowing what I wanted to write, then trying to find a song to match it) and the effect comes out more like a soundtrack than a narration. Next time you’re feeling void of inspiration, or simply want to do something entertaining, try writing to music. To give you a better idea of what I mean, I’ve inserted my video below.

More information on my unnamed novel.
Ishana Mayakashi
Stay Happy, Remain Beautiful

About Squishy

Writer, dancer, gamer, and admirer of all that is beautiful.

Posted on September 6, 2010, in Ishy Writes! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

