Day 1: Favorite project/universe

Today is my first day of “30 Days of Writing About Writing.” I discovered this exercise on Drew’s WordPress blog (Writerly Words) yesterday, and traced it back to J. Koyanagi.

***

Out of all the projects you’ve worked on and universes you’ve created, which is your favorite and why?

***

I think I’ll go with the world I created in God-Chosen for this one. God-Chosen is fantasy novel whose main characters are demons. There are four main realms I use here: Earth, Cahn-Abél, The Middle Realm, and Murana.

One of my goals when I write is to twist common perceptions. Demons are typically viewed as evil, so I wanted to make my readers question that. Yes, my demons still possess and kill for the fun of it, but they have a higher order of logic, as well. They actually have goals and thoughts, even an organized army and social hierarchy. The hard part is allowing the reader to relate to a demonic main character without taking away too much of what it means to be a demon.

As for the universe itself, I wanted to create places you long to visit despite, or perhaps because of, the danger involved. The Middle Realm is by far my favorite, with lakes as smooth as glass and large moons hanging so low in the sky, one can see every crater. It’s a world that seduces with pleasant scents, whispering ‘come stay awhile.’ What will become of you if you obey? What hides in the lake, in the grass, and in the trees, waiting patiently for you to fall asleep? Images like this one served as my inspiration for it:

Night Comes Down

Courtesy Shifted Reality.

What about you? How would you answer?

***

Tomorrow’s question: How many characters do you have? Do you prefer males or females?
About Squishy

Writer, dancer, gamer, and admirer of all that is beautiful.

Posted on September 10, 2010, in Ishy Writes! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Very cool! Glad you found the 30 days of writing! some questions are better than other. I like your answer for today 🙂

    • Thanks! I still have to go back and finish reading your answers as well as J’s, but this is a great little exercise to help keep you in the writing mindset.

Leave a Reply

