Day 5: Characters’ Ages

Day 5 of my 30 Days of Writing About Writing. Enjoy!

***

By age, who is your youngest character? Oldest? How about “youngest” and “oldest” in terms of when you created them?

***

By age, either Natiae or Kale is my youngest character. Natiae has lived for over 30 years, but since the Elari live twice as long as humans, she’s only about 15-16 years of age. Otherwise, Kale is the youngest at age 18. Both are from my unnamed novel.

Time Machine by Howard Banks

Time Machine by Howard Banks, courtesy artshole.co.uk

God-Chosen would have the oldest character by age. General Adón is a couple hundred thousand years old, as is Sirúnna, but the gods and angels are quite old, as well. Then of course I’d have to take time into consideration, as time passes differently in different worlds…

Kali would be my oldest in terms of when I created her, but I scrapped her years ago. Out of my active characters, Natiae and Lyneth are actually the oldest. I started Natiae’s character several years ago, under the name Catrin.

My most recent characters are the ones in Uprising who don’t have official names yet. My working names are Anthony, Tracy, Mark, and Lisa, as well as J.O. and A.N.N. for AI. Those are all likely to change once I develop the characters more. Except for A.N.N., I’ll probably keep that one.

What are your youngest and oldest characters?

***

Tomorrow’s question: Where are you most comfortable writing? At what time of day? Computer or good ol’ pen and paper?
About Squishy

Writer, dancer, gamer, and admirer of all that is beautiful.

Posted on September 14, 2010, in Ishy Writes! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey Ishana…
    I am officially your blog’s fan-don’t know when it happened but it did!
    I want to send you a private mail. Either, add a “contact me” page to your blog OR mail me your id (I am guessing you have my e-mail address since I have subscribed to your blog)
    I was thinking aspiring writers on WP, should do some writing together, you know N.O.W (NIGHT OF WRITE) or some writer’s challenge. It will be a great way to keep in touch, get better at writing and have fun. More details in the mail which I WANT to send …

    • Haha, I’m flattered!
      My email is on my About IshanaTM page. Perhaps I should have a separate contact page? Regardless, my email is ishanamaya [at] yahoo [dot] com (trying to avoid spam bots, hopefully I succeed). I’m always up for a writing challenge to kick me into gear, so let me know your thoughts and we can probably start something up.
      ~IshanaTM

Leave a Reply

