Day 6: Writing Environment

Today is Day 6 of my 30 Days of Writing About Writing ~ Enjoy!

***

Where are you most comfortable writing? At what time of day? Computer or good ol’ pen and paper?

***

I am most comfortable writing at home, sitting at my desk, headphones on with appropriate music playing. I love being alone, and find I feel most creative in solitude where I can sing badly and talk to myself without anyone judging me. I’m not against going to other places, however, and have been meaning for some time to sit and write at the reflecting pool at the Christian Science church.

As part of a group of local WriMo’s, we do something called “write-ins” in which a group of us visit some place, usually involving food, to write, eat, and converse. This doesn’t necessarily boost your word count any, as there are distractions abound, but it’s not a waste, even in November. You can discuss your novel with others and hear about theirs, often giving you that needed inspiration. It’s a fun, supportive environment that provides a necessary break from solitude, and often makes me long for it again.

Solitude

Coursey rjgeib.com

Time of day doesn’t much matter. I used to prefer late at night, as for whatever reason I felt I was more creative at 3am than any other time of the day, but that’s not an option anymore now that I have to be up at 7am for work. I think my favorite time to write has changed to the evening, after I’ve unwound from work and had something to eat.

I feel I think more when I write by hand, so I prefer handwriting the basic organizational steps. One-sentence summaries, for example, as well as their one-paragraph counterparts. I have a sheet of paper detailing each of my four acts (four, not three. I’ll explain later), and another few pages where I work on the scene/sequel breakdown of my novel. This is great to work on while stuck on a train or while waiting in a jury pool, as was my situation on Monday.

When it comes to writing out the story itself, I prefer typing. I type much faster than I write, and can type for longer periods of time before getting tired. Programs like FreeMind and yWriter also encourage me to type things out, as the organization such programs provide is far better and more accessible than my scribbled notes. The overall quality of my writing goes up when I type, as well, so it’s ideal for more intensive writing.

What about you? What is your ideal writing environment?

***

Tomorrow’s question: Do you listen to music while you write? What kind? Are there any songs you like to relate/apply to your characters?
About Squishy

Writer, dancer, gamer, and admirer of all that is beautiful.

Posted on September 15, 2010, in Ishy Writes! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I don’t have a particular space or time where/when I write. It just has to come to me, sometimes just in the evening sometimes on my work…

    • Understandable, sometimes inspiration strikes and you just can’t control when. That’s when that good ol’ pen and paper comes in handy so you can write whenever and wherever. Unless you’re in the shower or sleeping in bed, that’s when things get tricky…

      Thanks for the comment, Elanor!

Leave a Reply

