Day 7: Music

Day 7 of my 30 Days of Writing About Writing

***

Do you listen to music while you write? What kind? Are there any songs you like to relate/apply to your characters?

***

Yes! I always listen to music, it helps me concentrate. What kind of music I listen to depends both on my mood and what I’m writing. Fast-paced, exciting parts I’ll put in something from FINRG or Versailles. Slower, calmer parts I’ll put in Delerium or Emancipator. Of course those aren’t the only categories of music I’ll listen to, but that should give you a general idea of what I mean.

My mood trumps all, however. If I’m having a hard time concentrating for whatever the reason, I might choose to go for ambient even if the part I’m writing is a huge battle scene. I will say that I am currently listening to Mao from the Buddha Machine.

I’ll quote Drew here, as I agree with his thoughts on music and characters:

As for certain songs for characters, I don’t have specific songs that are my characters. I usually pick music based on the emotions they are feeling, that way I have an easier time for portraying their thoughts and feelings in the moment. For example, hard rock and screaming would be great for anger, soft music for peaceful moods, etc.

While I don’t create a soundtrack to my novels like J. Koyanagi, there are certain songs and bands I associate with novels. God-Chosen, for instance, I relate to the Japanese symphonic metal band Versailles. I listened very heavily to Versailles while writing God-Chosen last November and I feel like the overall tone of Versailles’ music is similar to what I wanted in my novel. The darker tones and poetic lyrics were often exactly what I needed to focus on my writing. Here’s a live video of one of my favorite songs by them:

It’s now been several hours since I posted this, but I just made an interesting correlation between Versailles and God-Chosen. The two rhythm guitarists in Versailles are TERU and Hizaki. While they are both incredible guitarists, they truly shine when they work together. It is the cooperation that makes Versailles stand out, far above other bands I’ve seen. This is the same idea I wanted to get across in God-Chosen. Lucian and Amara are both amazing at what they do, but they only achieve the truly remarkable when they work together.

I’m surprised I never made that connection before now. Do you listen to music when you write? Or do you find it more of a distraction than a help?

(For more about how I use music to be productive in my writing, check out my post on Sprints in Writing, Not in Running.)

***

Tomorrow’s question: What’s your favorite genre to write? To read?



Ishana Mayakashi
Stay Happy, Remain Beautiful

About Squishy

Writer, dancer, gamer, and admirer of all that is beautiful.

Posted on September 16, 2010, in Ishy Writes! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

