Day 8: Genre

Day 8 of my 30 Days of Writing About Writing.

***

What’s your favorite genre to write? To read?

***

I’ll answer this in reverse. I’ll read mostly anything fictional. I do like some non-fiction, as well, but I tend to read as an escape from reality. Which means no drama or romance for me. I love reading things that are exciting in ways that I wish reality was, so I tend mostly toward fantasy and sci-fi. I’ve nothing against thriller, mystery, or horror, I just don’t tend to those as much as fantasy and sci-fi. I suppose I should also note British satire on here, as well.

As for writing, I again tend to fantasy and sci-fi, but for slightly different reasons. Mainly, I cannot possibly write anything “realistic.” I try, and end up adding in magic somewhere. Without fail. Perhaps that’s why I’m dragging my feet with the beginning of God-Chosen. Lucas just runs around being a human and stuff. I mean c’mon, how dull! I do that every day…

One of my long-term goals is to write something a bit more “down-to-earth.” Her Eyes Were Green will be my first step in that direction, but I probably won’t work on that story until next year some time.

I also favor a darker tone with my stories. I’m not afraid to kill off a character or two, nor will I shy away from the gory and unpleasant. I strive to show my characters pulling through the dark and gritty to persevere and see the sun rise another day. Magic makes it more fun to write (and to read, I hope).

Castle

Challenge: Write something about this image. Who are those people? Where are they going? What is that castle in the distance?

***

Tomorrow’s question: How do you get ideas for your characters? Describe the process of creating them.



Ishana Mayakashi
Stay Happy, Remain Beautiful

About Squishy

Writer, dancer, gamer, and admirer of all that is beautiful.

Posted on September 17, 2010, in Ishy Writes! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

