I apparently write like Jane Austen

I write like
Jane Austen

I Write Like by Mémoires, Analyze your writing!

So there you have it. One scene from God-Chosen makes me Jane Austen. I must say, I am flattered, but I highly doubt I could hold a candle to Jane. I would love to use subtexting in dialogue as proficiently as Jane did, but that will take quite a bit of work. I’ll get there one day, I’m sure, but it might take me a few years and the perfect situation.

I am curious to know how this little machine works. It isn’t simply random, as you will get the same author if you input the same writing sample, but the analysis is nearly instantaneous. Granted, my writing sample was only 788 words long, but any in-depth analysis would take at least a few seconds. The website says “word choice and writing style,” but that’s rather vague, isn’t it? Word choice, as in the vocabulary you use? So if I use some of the same words Jane Austen uses, then I write like her? And what of writing style, does that mean sentence syntax? Active versus passive voice? Parataxis versus hypotaxis? I’m really not sure, and I haven’t read enough Jane Austen to know if I do, in fact, write like her. I write a much different genre, I know that much.

At any rate, it’s a fun little gadget I found on Writealogue (see “Writing Nation” to the left) that is interesting it nothing else. So give it a try and see what happens.

About Squishy

Writer, dancer, gamer, and admirer of all that is beautiful.

Posted on September 23, 2010, in Ishy Writes! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

