Day 19: Minor characters

Want to join in? 30 Days of Writing About Writing

***

Who is your favorite minor character that decided to shove himself into the spotlight and why?

***

Can’t say I’ve actually experienced this. Usually, my minors stay minors and that’s about it. I will tell you about my favorite minor characters though.

In God-Chosen, Commander Nevira is my favorite minor. I derived her name from Severina, which if you follow the etymology back, derives itself from a Latin male name meaning stern. Nevira is very strict and has high expectations of those she works with. She has a quick tongue and isn’t shy to say what she thinks.

In my unnamed novel, I’ll have to say Bane is my favorite minor. Bane is actually his nick-name. His real name is Benjamin. His mother called him “Bean” when he was a child, but he caused so much trouble he later became “Bane.” That mostly sets the tone for who he is.

***

Tomorrow’s question: What are your favorite character interactions to write?
About Squishy

Writer, dancer, gamer, and admirer of all that is beautiful.

Posted on September 28, 2010, in Ishy Writes! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

