Day 23: Time

Back on track now with day 23. Want to join in? 30 Days of Writing About Writing

***

How long does it usually take you to complete an entire story—from planning to writing to posting (if you post your work)?

***

I’ve only ever finished one story from start to end, and I wouldn’t consider it ‘complete.’ It’s been 11 months since I started writing God-Chosen, but I took a few months off of it for various reasons. It’s draft at best and will take several more months of work before I consider it a complete manuscript. I also won’t be working on it for at least a few months.

I am currently in the planning stages for my next novel. I started planning it yesterday (though I didn’t get very far) and hope to have the first draft done by the end of the year. I don’t know where I’ll go from there.

If I put my mind to it and really focused, I think I could get an entire novel planned, written, revised, and done in a year or two. That includes time taken off to let the ms sit and fester in its own impurities.

I’ve never completed a short story, so I couldn’t even guess for that one. I have plans for one, but I’m not sure when I’ll get the chance to seriously work on it.

***

Tomorrow’s question: How willing are you to kill your characters if the plot so demands it? What’s the most interesting way you’ve killed someone?
About Squishy

Writer, dancer, gamer, and admirer of all that is beautiful.

Posted on October 2, 2010, in Ishy Writes! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

