Day 29: Writing and Reality

Tomorrow is my last day! Want to start your own 30 Days of Writing?

***

How often do you think about writing? Ever come across something in reality that reminds you of your story/characters?

***

I’m nearly constantly thinking about my writing, usually in dialogue form. I rarely use any of the dialogue I think of, and frequently forget it all in minutes anyways, but the ideas tend to stick. I usually think of dialogue involving two characters where one is trying to convince the other of something and the other is incredibly skeptical. This prompts for in-depth explanation from the former to sway the latter.

This exercise is beneficial in a few ways:

  • I can work on how a character’s speech portrays his personality.
  • I can find flaws in my storyworld by how well a character can explain it.
  • I can see how my characters react to conflict, even if it is small.
  • I can better detail the relationship between the two characters in the dialogue.

I usually only stick to two characters since this is all in my head and dialogue with more than two characters can get a bit confusing.

As for the second question, I more frequently try to project reality in my stories than the other way around. If I meet someone or hear of someone with an interesting personality quirk, I’ll consider adding it to one of my current characters. I also have a list of weird events I want to put in a story some day.

***

Tomorrow’s question: Tag someone. What you like about that person as a writer and/or about one of his/her characters?
About Squishy

Writer, dancer, gamer, and admirer of all that is beautiful.

Posted on October 8, 2010, in Ishy Writes! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

