Update + Bonus Link

Found a great post today on showing versus telling called The Great Unsaid, complete with examples.

Wrote nearly 2,000 words yesterday. Hope to write at least that much today. Thinking about starting a reading project as well. More on that later.

Trying to distract myself from more upsetting thoughts.

About Squishy

Writer, dancer, gamer, and admirer of all that is beautiful.

Posted on October 11, 2010, in Ishy Writes! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the nice article! Hope you’re not feeling too upset.

    • Glad you liked it! Ironic how your week 3 post for your writing workshop also dealt with show and tell.
      I’m feeling much better now despite having come short of my 2,000-word goal. Spinjam tonight proved rather cathartic for me, so I really can’t complain.

  2. I had to Google what spinjam is. That looks pretty cool!

    • I talk more about it here https://ishanamaya.wordpress.com/category/skill-toys/
      Though I haven’t made a post in a while. I haven’t been spinning poi much as of late, either. *slacking*

      • I know the feeling. I don’t always want to call it slacking though. I haven’t been going to the gym or running much lately. I haven’t been reading much lately. I haven’t even been writing all that much to be honest. But add it all up, combine it with a busy work life, and it’s still pretty impressive. And I’m still wondering when I will ever start brushing up on my Chinese.

        I don’t know too much of your life of course, but I know for a fact you write more than me and you blog more than me. You also have a job, and you’re spinning poi and dancing(?) as well. There’s really only so much we can do without resting, although sometimes I wish I was one of those people who only need 5 hours of sleep.

        • Well to be fair, I don’t do much at work haha. I work at a help desk, so if people don’t need help, I have naught to do. Which is why I blog so much. I’d spend that time writing if I could focus on it while I’m at work. Wouldn’t it be nice if we didn’t have to sleep at all? Like if it was just a pastime instead of a necessity? Eight more hours to do everything you want to do and couldn’t before! Huzzah!

Leave a Reply

