Cause for the darkness

Right so. If you’re reading this, then congratulations! You’ve made it onto my allow list!

Some time last week, my roommate happened to mention me to a friend of his. This friend decided she would Internet stalk me. She found my G+, my LinkedIn, my Twitter account (under ishanamaya AND TehSquishy), this blog, my other blog that never got off the ground, my YouTube channel, and even a newspaper article that did nothing more than mention me once. I didn’t even know that article existed.

Talk about creepy!!

That made me realize I’ve been a bit too lax about my Internet presence. To correct this, I made everything private. You now have to be on my allow list to view this blog. I have to follow you to let you see my Tweets. You can’t search for me on YouTube, and my G+ no longer has any personal info about me (except my full name, because they don’t let you change/hide that. The slags).

Part of me wants to start over with a completely different blog under a new pseudonym so nobody could link it to me. I realize this is the exact opposite direction I spoke of before. I guess using my real name isn’t exactly dangerous, but I do find it rather unsettling that someone can type my name into Google and find THAT much about me.

So what do I do now? I dunno. I’ve already decided I don’t like blogging, but I don’t mind keeping this thing around to chat with you all. At the same time, I have several friends that aren’t on WP who won’t be able to see this now that it’s private. What to do!

In other news: it’s Friday, I’m at work, and I am SO SLEEPY! Sleepiness is really my own fault for staying up later than I should have… but Rusty Hearts is just so much fun!!

About Squishy

Writer, dancer, gamer, and admirer of all that is beautiful.

Posted on September 30, 2011, in Real Life. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That’s so creepy! It’s very unsettling how much people can find about you on the Internet. I’m glad you’re sticking around (and invited me 😀 ). Looking forward to continuing to hear your adventures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

