Trout

“What’s for dinner?” I asked Father as I stepped into the kitchen.

“Trout,” he answered. His voice was hardly audible above the sizzle.

“Again?” I scrunched my face and peeked into the pan.

“Would you rather go hungry?”

“No no, I just wouldn’t mind the occasional variety, either…” I backed away from the stove to my usual spot leaning against the door frame. “I could pick up some things in town, you know. I can try to make Spanish rice or even some Thai food.”

Dad scoffed at the notion. “Have a higher chance of your mother rising from the grave than getting me to eat that foreign bullshit.”

I sighed, defeated. Again. That may be, I thought, but that’s still a higher chance than me telling you I’m gay.


The above came from an exercise we did in Write Club last night. Each person wrote a random word on the board, which acted as word-prompts. Each person picked one of those words to use in 10-15 minutes of writing, whether it was in prose, poetry, or something else entirely. Trout was my word. (Side note: we debated out to spell it. Because we’re writers, we don’t know how to spell!!)

I’ll probably continue to post about the different activities we do in Write Club when I get the chance to every week. If I think I can manage the upkeep of a blog again, I might try to do some of those activities with my faithful followers, if people are interested. Otherwise, I hope you guys find a use for some of the activities in your own ways.

I also signed up for a creative writing course for next semester (for clarification, “next semester” is May-June at my university). I’ve never taken an official creative writing course before, so I’m a little nervous. It’s also at 8am, which is a bucket of fail. But nevermind that. Depending on how the course works, I might bring some of the activities and course work from that into this blog as well.

As I’m nearing the end of my current WIP, I’m wondering what to focus on next. I might take a break during May and June while my creative writing class is going on. After that, I don’t know. Maybe I’ll jump into revisions, or maybe I’ll revive Ms. Evalise Beaumont. Remember her?

What have you all been working on lately? Anything you would like to share with the class?

About Squishy

Writer, dancer, gamer, and admirer of all that is beautiful.

Posted on February 22, 2012, in Ishy Writes! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a fun writing exercise! If you post crazy writing prompts, you know that you can count me in. 🙂

    Speaking of what everyone’s been writing about lately, another blogger tagged me for the Lucky Seven, so I’m tagging you. Check it out here! http://everydayepic.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/lucky-seven/
    If nothing else, you can see how pathetically I write dialog during NaNoWriMo.

    Hope you enjoy the creative writing class! Since I took the creative writing track in English at my college, I took plenty. Some of them were great, some not so much, but they definitely expanded my boundaries as a writer overall.

    • I came up with a bunch of writing exercises whilst bored in class yesterday, so I’ll probably post those as we try them out in Write Club. Hopefully they’ll be helpful!

      Lucky Seven sounds like fun! Though unfortunately, Focus Writer doesn’t break things down into pages, so I’m going to have to get a bit creative to find the seventh line on page 77…

Leave a Reply

