After spending a couple months struggling to maintain my daily writing habits, I’m suddenly back to wanting to write every second I can. Not even anything particular, really. Just…write. Stuff.

There’s one very important incident that reignited my ambition: A friend sat down with me and critiqued a 120-word flash fiction piece I wrote recently. It had nothing to do with the novel I’m editing, nor is it something I plan to use in the future. But we talked about it, and that was the greatest thing ever.

Writing is a conversation, despite how much it seems like a solitary activity. I rarely get to hold these conversations, whether about my writing or someone else’s, and I would love to change that. So here’s my proposal:
A once-a-week get-together to review a single piece (or portion of a piece)

The idea is to have a real-time one-on-one conversation about the piece in question. One week dedicated to one person, the following week dedicated to the other. That means you’d have a full two weeks to decide what to focus on, whether it’s something new, old, or not even fully-formed yet.

I’m absolutely serious about this. As much as I adore and respect everyone in Write Club, I unfortunately can’t go to them for this sort of thing. So if you’re even slightly interested, please let me know, whether in comment or in mail.

About Squishy

Writer, dancer, gamer, and admirer of all that is beautiful.

Posted on October 24, 2012, in Ishy Writes!. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So you’re proposing a critique group? I like the sound of that. I actually had started one up and had it going for a little bit last winter/spring (or the one before? I forget, honestly), but life got in the way after a while.

    I would be down for attempting one of these post-NaNo again. Keep me posted on your ability to collect any other interest!

Leave a Reply

